December 25, 2012: Poking Holes in the Darkness

My good friend and our Pastor, Lee Hovel left his family today and spent part of his Christmas with us at Kansas University Medical Center.  In his message to our family, he shared a story from his childhood that his Grandmother told him about a gas lamp lighter.  A little girl was watching the lamp lighter and told her mother that he was poking holes in the darkness.  Lee’s Grandmother went on to reveal to Lee that like the lamp lighter, God sent Jesus to us to poke holes in our darkness.

Kris has been hospitalized since Thanksgiving because her new immune system is rejecting her body.  When she was admitted, she was emaciated, suffering from fungal pneumonia and couldn’t keep food or medicine in her body.

Last Thursday, Kris and I met with the head of the bone marrow transplant team who told us that they were out of medical treatment options to help her.  He told us that very few people in Kris’ condition survive.  He also told us that at this point, a person’s personal strength, commitment and will have more to do with survival than medicine or science.

He gave Kris the option to stay in the hospital and fight or if she preferred, to spend Christmas in her home with her family.  When he left the room, we held each other and cried.  We talked about what we were going to do.  We talked about the future and what we needed to tell the kids the next day.  I told Kris that I would fight for her, love her and support whatever decision she made.

On Friday morning before I talked to the kids, I visited Kris.  She told me, “I do not accept the statistics.  I have more to give.  I do not believe that I’ve fulfilled God’s purpose for me on this earth.  I’m going to stay in the hospital and fight”.  Kris is my light.  She pokes holes in my darkness.

These are very dark times for our family.  Kris is our rock.  She is the glue that holds our family together.  She is the strongest person I’ve ever met.  This year, she’s beaten the odds twice.  I believe she’ll beat the odds for a third time.  She needs your help.  I’m asking you to lift Kris up.  During this Christmas season, when we’re all a little closer to God, please include Kris in your prayers.  Please help pokes holes in our darkness.

Thank you,

Ken

61 Responses to “December 25, 2012: Poking Holes in the Darkness”


  1. 1 Susan Boehnke December 29, 2012 at 3:13 am

    Please know that our family continues to have you in our prayers for healing & strength to continue the good fight! Kris & Ken – may god wrap his healing, comforting arms around you & the kids & give you strength to win the battle!! God’s Blessings to your family…

  2. 2 Martin Peggy Hildreth December 29, 2012 at 6:14 pm

    Dear Kris, At this special time of the year, we all need to be so Thankful for what we have. We know you family is sooo proud of you for all you have been thru! Know that we are saying prayers for you every day and are praying you can get thru this fight one more time! You are the most courageous lady we know! God Bless You and Your Family!

  3. 3 Deb Courter Brennan December 30, 2012 at 8:17 pm

    Kris, you are a TRUE inspiration to me and many, many others fighting cancer. You have shown me that pushing on, no matter how tough the journey is, for ourselves, our children and loved ones is the only way to go. Kris, you are a true warrior. You have shown me so much through hearing about and reading about your journey. Your children sound amazing just like you! And your husband sounds so kind. Keep up the fight. I’m so sorry to hear that you’ve continued to have so many struggles along the way. Keep on poking those holes in the darkness!!! Hugs…

  4. 4 Sue Blu Minnick-Smith December 31, 2012 at 8:41 pm

    Kris & Family,
    Sending love and light, thoughts and prayers to you! Your grace and courage are an inspiration to us all. Please know that I am among the many, many people who are keeping you in our hearts and prayers.
    Take Care,
    Sue Minnick-Smith

  5. 5 Tina Clearwater Chladek December 31, 2012 at 8:43 pm

    Hi Kris!! I have been following your struggles & continue to pray for you & your family.
    In high school & church you were continuously kind & flashed that beautiful smile that made others happy by just seeing it I remember when you were in the Calhoun County Queen contest, all the others were much older than you but the poise you showed, plus that smile, took you to the finals. Please keep up this fight!! As a nurse I have seen many who have conquered illness by just believing & thru the support of others , , & their faith have beat the “odds”. Hang in there & God Bless You!!!

  6. 6 Steve Smith December 31, 2012 at 8:58 pm

    Kris, just as you encouraged us from the sidelines as a high school cheerleader, I’m cheering you on in your fight now. I believe in you and your tenacious spirit Kris…you CAN beat this!

    Much love & prayer.

    Steve

  7. 7 Rose December 31, 2012 at 11:58 pm

    I agree with you Kris…the fight is not over! You hang on!!! I love you Kris and can’t wait to hug you Again:) GOD BLESS YOU!

    p.s. When we were praying last night Kernan, 9yr old son, prayed ” God if you would give me one wish it would be that Mama’s friend Kris gets better.” You are a pillar of strength for all ages Kris! Keep on keepin’ on:) 🙂 🙂 !!!!!!!

  8. 8 Rose January 2, 2013 at 11:22 am

    Thinking bout-cha…. all day & all night. Love you Kris.

    Hug you- Rose

  9. 9 Natalie (Bray) Neal January 3, 2013 at 5:50 pm

    Thinking of you all. My prayers are with you today and always!
    Natalie (Bray) Neal

  10. 10 Stephanie Smithmier January 11, 2013 at 4:34 am

    Kris-Please know that you are in my thoughts and prayers and my heart, soul and body ache over what you are going through. You are a strong, amazing woman and I really look up to you! I know we only know one another on a professional level, but that alone allowed me to learn what an accomplished and strong individual you are! Your journey has truly reminded me how special and fragile we are on this earth. But you give me and so many others hope on what we can really overcome if we want to! God bless you and your family, may peace be with you all very soon!

    Stephanie Smithmier


Leave a Reply

